Inductees 2018 - Hazel Butorac OAM JP

Hazel Butorac OAM JP

Hazel Butorac OAM JP is passionate about supporting people from marginalised backgrounds. She has spent decades volunteering for women's refuges, was the Inaugural Chairperson of the Midland Women's Health Care Place (MWHCP).

From May 1974 to October 1987, Hazel managed an Office of a Senator for Western Australia in the Australian Parliament with the first three years actually being Secretary for two Senators and the House of Representatives Member for the new Electorate of Tangney. They wanted to have a joint office as each was only allowed one "Secretary" Staff Member and so the other two Staff (both males) were doing Research work and I was the only Shorthand Typist for 5 males. Eventually, I worked with another Secretary from Canberra to put together the Members of Parliament Staff Act which then allowed each MP & Senator to employ two staff.

From early 1988 Hazel worked alongside a Lawyer from Sydney who represented Aboriginal families at the Royal Commission Into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody during its' Hearings in Western Australia.

Hazel was the Director of the Citizens Advice Bureau (CAB), she has been actively involved in the creation and continuation of many community organisations including the Soroptimists International; Mature Adults Learning Association, Tales of Times Past Senior Storytellers, and Council of the Ageing. During her life Hazel has been involved in influencing Government policy and decision making, serving on the Active Ageing Taskforce, and several other committees and Boards. The work Hazel has done throughout her life, through various organisations and charities, has had an impact on many people throughout Western Australia, especially women. As a fierce believer in equality, Hazel's tireless efforts have undoubtedly helped to inspire, and improve the lives of others.

Article Index
Inductees 2018
Patricia Barblett AM
The Honourable Diana Bryant AO QC
Hazel Butorac OAM JP
Helen Margaret Creed
Nicola Forrest
Terrie Gomboc
Kelly Howlett
Sue Middleton
Dr Ann O'Neill
Professor Christobel Saunders
Suzanne Maree Urbaniak
Dr Tracy Westerman
Gina Williams
Mrs Irene Hooper AM
All Pages

follow us on