Inductees 2018 - Patricia Barblett AM

Patricia Barblett AM

Patricia Barblett AM is a leader in the field of conservation and park management of WA's unique environment. Mrs Barblett was the first woman appointed to the Rottnest Island Authority Board, serving on the Board for 16 years, and chairing it for 3 years before retiring in 1993.  Her achievements during her time were many including; the first Environmental Interpretation Plan for the Island, establishment of the Rottnest Museum, converting the Kingstown Army Barracks into the Rottnest Environmental Education Centre and Youth Hostel, establishing the Rottnest Voluntary Guides and Chairing the Rottnest Island Hospital Board. Pat's conservation involvement did not stop there, she is also the immediate past Chair of the Conservation Commission, where she has been a member for nearly 17 years.  Pat was awarded the Sir David Brand Medal in the WA Tourism Awards in 2003, was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2004 for her service to environmental conservation and management, and to the development of ecotourism opportunities in Western Australia and received the Prime Minister's Medal in 2004.

Article Index
Inductees 2018
Patricia Barblett AM
The Honourable Diana Bryant AO QC
Hazel Butorac OAM JP
Helen Margaret Creed
Nicola Forrest
Terrie Gomboc
Kelly Howlett
Sue Middleton
Dr Ann O'Neill
Professor Christobel Saunders
Suzanne Maree Urbaniak
Dr Tracy Westerman
Gina Williams
Mrs Irene Hooper AM
All Pages

follow us on