Inductees 2015 - Roll of Honour - June Williams

ROLL OF HONOUR - June Williams

All her life, June Williams worked to promote equity in the community, in her many roles: as an activist in the Women’s Electoral Lobby, as a teacher, and conciliator in the NSW Anti-discrimination board.

Her future direction was firmly established in 1972, when she became a co-convener of the Women’s Electoral Lobby.

The Women's Electoral Lobby intervened in the Commonwealth bank officers' case in which the union opposed the employment of part-time workers in banks.

Although pro-rata pay and equal conditions were not achieved, the right to work part-time was.

On her return to Perth, June became the inaugural WA Equal opportunity Commissioner and remained in the position for 17 years.

She consulted widely in the community, with industry and government to ensure that the Act was supported and understood. She was also committed to developing a sound body of case law in the Equal Opportunity Tribunal and rarely forwarded a matter to the Tribunal that did not succeed.

Article Index
Inductees 2015
Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AO,Governor of Western Australia
Dr Sue Boyd
Mrs Doolann-Leisha Eatts
Ms Tracey Horton
Mrs Pat Morris AM
Professor Cheryl Praeger AM
Honourable Christine Ann Wheeler AO, QC
Mrs Nanette Williams
Roll of Honour - Margaret Hubery
Roll of Honour - Isabelle Lake
Roll of Honour - Nancy Stewart
Roll of Honour - June Williams
All Pages

follow us on