Inductees 2012 - Professor Colleen Hayward

Professor Colleen Hayward

When senior Noongar woman Colleen Hayward welcomed the Queen to country during last year’s royal visit it was an eye-opening moment for both women.

“I was deeply moved by the Queen’s response in conversation with me when she indicated it was the first time on any of her visits to WA that she had truly heard the meaning of country from an Aboriginal perspective,” Professor Hayward said. “She said that it helped her understand a little of country being the foundation to the way Western Australia has developed.”

Few people are better able to provide that perspective than Professor Hayward.

She comes from a family of teachers — her father, Len Hayward, was WA’s first Aboriginal teacher — and is currently head of Kurongkurl Katitjin Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, at Edith Cowan University.

She has bachelor degrees in education and in applied science in Aboriginal community management and development, plus a postgraduate certificate in cross-sector partnerships from Cambridge University.

Professor Hayward was recruited to ECU just over three years ago, having come from the Telethon Institute for Child Health Research where she headed the institute’s research efforts in Aboriginal child and maternal health.

Among her many achievements, Professor Hayward has been recognised for her long-standing work for and on behalf of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities across Australia. She was named a finalist in The National Deadly Awards in 2008, the same year she won the National NAIDOC Aboriginal Person of the Year Award.

She has also received the Premier’s Multicultural Ambassador’s Award for advancing human rights and anti-racism in the community and was a 2009 inductee into the WA Department of Education’s Hall of Fame for achievement in Aboriginal education.

The West Australian

Article Index
Inductees 2012
Jahna Cedar
Linda Fistonich
Professor Colleen Hayward
Annette Howard
Freda Jacob
The Honourable Antoinette Kennedy AO
Kerry Newick
Dr Casta Tungaraza
Linda Wayman
Professor Samina Yasmeen
Roll of Honour - Susan Adelaide Casson
Roll of Honour - Dr Roberta Jull
Roll of Honour - Dame Annie Florence Gillies Cardell-Oliver
Roll of Honour - Florence Hummerston
Roll of Honour - Isabel Johnston
All Pages

follow us on