Inductees 2012 - Roll of Honour - Isabel Johnston

Isabel Johnston (1891-1976)

A passion for teaching women about the workings of government in the hope that they might one day be able to participate led Isabel Johnston to start the Western Australian Women’s Parliament in 1946. The parliament taught women how to formulate, research, prepare, present and debate material. It was an immediate success and the women submitted some of their proceedings to State Parliament. After much representation from the Western Australian Women’s Parliament a woman was appointed to the housing commission. Isabel Johnston was appointed Justice of the Peace in 1947 with Ida Swift, another member of the women’s parliament.

The West Australian

Article Index
Inductees 2012
Jahna Cedar
Linda Fistonich
Professor Colleen Hayward
Annette Howard
Freda Jacob
The Honourable Antoinette Kennedy AO
Kerry Newick
Dr Casta Tungaraza
Linda Wayman
Professor Samina Yasmeen
Roll of Honour - Susan Adelaide Casson
Roll of Honour - Dr Roberta Jull
Roll of Honour - Dame Annie Florence Gillies Cardell-Oliver
Roll of Honour - Florence Hummerston
Roll of Honour - Isabel Johnston
All Pages

follow us on