Inductees 2011 - Shirley Strickland de la Hunty, (dec)athlete & conservationist

Shirley Strickland de la Hunty, (dec)athlete & conservationist

Shirley Strickland de la Hunty won seven Olympic sprinting and hurdling medals three gold, one silver and three bronze at the Olympic Games of 1948, 1952 and 1956. Refused admission to a university engineering course because the faculty had no womens washroom, she turned to nuclear physics and gained an honours degree. After retiring from competition, she coached athletics. She was an ardent conservationist and a National Trust member.


Article Index
Inductees 2011
Pri Adilbert, co-founder, African charity
Lesley Akora, author & refugee advocate
Beryl Allen, seniors volunteer
Dr Anne Aly, terrorism and security expert
Olive Anstey 1920-1983, nursing pioneer
Daisy Bates, (dec) anthropologist & journalist
Jean Beadle, 1868-1942 feminist & social worker
Professor Lyn Beazley AC, Chief Scientist of WA
Hon Julie Bishop MP, politician and civil rights advocate
Estelle Blackburn, writer & journalist
Danielle Blain, Businesswoman
Dr Abigail Bray, child sexual abuse expert
Rebecca Britten, Bali Peace Park Volunteer
Helen Cattalini, social worker and community volunteer
This place is dedicated to the unsung heroines whose collective effort defines Herstory
Gwen Chester, 1915-2003 equal rights in sport pioneer
Dame Rachel Cleland,DBE, (dec), community worker & conservationist
Priya Cooper, paralympian and public speaker
Margaret Court, minister and tennis player
Edith Cowan, 1861-1932 social worker and politician
Paddi Creevey, public servant & Mayor
Ann Deanus, womens health advocate
Wilma Dunne OAM, nursing volunteer
Vanessa Elliot, social entrepreneur
Dr Rica Erickson, botanist
Dr Joan Eveline (dec), women in leadership researcher
Ms Wendy Fatin, parliamentarian and nurse
Dr Penny Flett, health pioneer
Win Froude, volunteer & philanthropist
Lois Gatley, carers advocate
Kate George, lawyer & Aboriginal rights activist
Patricia (Pat) Giles, activist & politician
Annie Goldflam, social justice activist
Denise Goldsworthy, mettallurgist and mining leader
The Right Reverend Kay Goldsworthy, Anglican Bishop
Dr Sue Gordon, Indigenous magistrate
Beryl Grant AO OBE, nurse and magistrate
Mrs Doreen Green, teacher & community leader
Irene Greenwood, 1898-1992 feminist and peace activist
Tina Gunter, youth worker, Esther Foundation
Kay Hallahan AO, politician and community advocate
Carol Hanlon, business dreams champion
Angela Hartwig, womens activist
Janet Haydon, Noongar Elder
Yvonne Henderson, Commissioner for Equal Opportunity
Carina Hoang, author and boat person
Mary Alice (May) Holman, 1893-1939 parliamentarian and social reformer
Janet Holmes a Court AC, philanthropist and businesswoman
Dr Lekkie Hopkins, educator, historian & author
Dorothy Inman, foster carer
Sharryn Jackson, former MP and women's rights supporter
Elizabeth Jolley, 1923-2007 writer
Leonie Kershaw, hospitality charity volunteer
Wouterina Klein OAM JP, community campaigner
Judith Killen, physiotherapist & life coach
Kedy Kristal, women's refuge manager
Kate Lamont, chef & author
Patricia Lavater, charity Founder
Carmen Lawrence, politician and academic
Jade Lewis, anti-drug campaigner, author & prison educator
Alannah MacTiernan, former politician
Kathleen Mazzella, community advocate
Jan McDonough, Child case worker
Krista McMeeken, student and mentor
Julie Michael, community patron
Georgiana Molloy, 1805-1843 pioneer and botanical collector
Sally Morgan, writer and artist
Carmen Morris, Maltese community volunteer
Andrea Musulin, leader in child protective services
Margaret Nadebaum, educator
Mary Nenke, aquaculture pioneer
Vicki ODonnell, Aboriginal Health
June Oscar, Bunuba woman
Dr Maureen Phillips, forensic specialist
Judith Parker AM, human rights & womens issues campaigner
Kaylene Poon, community volunteer
Mary Raine, 1877-1960 philanthropist and publican
Gina Rinehart, businesswoman and philanthropist
Bessie Rischbieth, 1874-1967 Feminist
Agnes Robertson, 1882-1968 politician and schoolteacher
Dame Raigh Roe, CWA leader, board director and mentor
Angela Ryder, Aboriginal activist
Louise Sauvage, paralympian
Lisa Scaffidi, Lord Mayor
Sabina Shugg, mining engineer & mentor
Dr Margaret Smith, gynaecologist & author
Kate Sommerville, Mine manager
Josephine Spaull, ballet educator
Professor Fiona Stanley, medical researcher
Libby Stone, Broadcaster
Shirley Strickland de la Hunty, (dec)athlete & conservationist
Halina Szunejko, Polish community leader
Dame Dorothy Tangney, 1911-1985 political leader
Shelley Taylor Smith, marathon swimmer
Leah Umbagai, youth advocate
Jo Vallentine, former politician and peace activist
Diana Warnock, journalist, broadcaster & politician
Giz Watson MLC, politician
Kate Wilson, performance poet
Dr Fiona Wood AM, surgeon and medical researcher
Ros Worthington, breast cancer advocate
All Pages

follow us on